unmentionables: the guilty pleasure

So I have developed this habit after getting off my 12 hour shift at work of doing something I have never, ever done of my own accord.  Namely, going to McDonald’s for breakfast.

First, you have to know that most days, the only time I’m up when McD’s is still serving breakfast is because I have to be somewhere and that place is most certainly not McDonald’s.  I don’t even like McDonald’s.  There burgers are mediocre and there fries are just fries (blasphemy, I know).  And I don’t really like breakfast either.  Eggs took me 18 years to tolerate, pancakes are too dry, syrup too sweet, sausages make me feel like a sausage.  Just not my thing.

But for some reason, I was driving home from work at 7:15 and without even considering it, I swerved into the McDonald’s drive thru and ordered a Sausage and Egg McBiscuit (or whatever it’s called… a #4) with orange juice and syrup.

And now, every morning as I’m driving home telling myself I’m too tired to eat and I don’t even like McDonald’s, I pull into their drive thru.  I order the same thing.  I eat it the same way (hashbrown on the way home, biscuit dipped in the syrup).  I blame the fact that McD’s is almost directly between my house and the hospital.  It’s like trying to ignore the elephant in the room.  The delicious, 4 dollar elephant.

So here I am, having just consumed a delightful confection of salty and sweet all washed down by tangy orange juice and fulfillingness and I just feel blah.  Feel like I just ate my first heart attack at age 40.  I’m going to go brush my teeth and go to bed.  I have work again tonight and tomorrow morning my will will be strong.  I shall not waver.  I do not like McD’s!

Feeling like a sausage,

A

P.s. Please tell me I’m not the only one with guilty pleasures?  (Please?  Anyone?)

4 thoughts on “unmentionables: the guilty pleasure

  1. First off, although I love breakfast, I have never been a huge fan of fast food breakfasts, no matter how “homemade” they try and make it. But I must admit, this year was began with a strange fetish for McDonalds sausage biscuit sandwiches, which is something that I haven’t eaten since I was going to Wednesday night church. But lo and behold, three sandwiches a week later, I was flabbergasted with myself. I’ve recently kicked it, but now I’ve moved on to bagels. Those are more like 3 to 4 days a week, and I’m not seeing that going away anytime soon.

    • I don’t think of bagels as breakfast food. They’re more of a “duh, they’re bagels” food. I think I’ve gotten out of the McD’s habit, too. I went straight home yesterday (mostly because I was so tired it was a hazard for me to be out on the roads for too long) and also, that was my last night of work for nearly three weeks. Yaaay!

  2. This post made me laugh! My guilty pleasure is certainly booze. From my blog you’d think it was sweets or trashy books, but in all honesty I’d much rather have a cold one then a candy bar. So I have to be careful. Sometimes I have the candy bar instead of the beer. Other than that, definitely carbs.

    • I have that problem, too! With wine and a good draft. A Bud Light can sit in my fridge for months, but you set a Shock Top or a bottle of Lambusco’s Riunite in there and I’m like a dying man in the desert. Gotta have that drink. Course, it’s even nicer when the weather’s good and the windows are open and I’ve had a long, satisfying day being productive. In other words, I can’t wait for summer 🙂

Leave a comment